CSK Won First Match of IPL 2024 Defeating RCB, Made an Explosive Start

In the first match of IPL 2024 between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), CSK has won. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) continued their dominance over Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the Chepauk Stadium with a six-wicket win in the opening match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 on Friday.

CSK had a target of 174 runs to win, which it achieved with 8 balls remaining. The hero of CSK’s victory was Bangladeshi fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman, who took four wickets.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
CSK Won First Match of IPL 2024 Defeating RCB, Made an Explosive Start
CSK Won First Match of IPL 2024 Defeating RCB, Made an Explosive Start

Even after 16 years, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) team failed to register a win against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at Chepauk. Royal Challengers Bangalore last won an IPL match on 21 May 2008 against Chennai Super Kings at Chepauk ground.

Royal Challengers Bangalore had defeated Chennai Super Kings by 14 runs in that match. After May 21, 2008, the two teams have clashed 8 times on this ground, in which Chennai Super Kings has defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in all the matches.

Also Read: MS Dhoni Steps Down as Chennai Super Kings Captain, Hands Over CSK Captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad

Scorecard of CSK Innings: (176/4)

PlayerRunBowlerWicket Fall
Ruturaj Gaikwad15Yash Dayal1-38
Rachin Ravindra37Karan Sharma2-71
Ajinkya Rahane27Cameron Green3-99
Darryl Mitchell22Cameron Green4-110

In this game, which took place at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, skipper Faf du Plessis of the RCB chose to bat first after winning the toss. Virat Kohli and captain Faf du Plessis combined 41 runs for the first wicket as RCB got off to a strong start. Duplessis played excellent batting, hitting eight fours in his 35-run innings. In the same over, Mustafizur Rahman removed both Rajat Patidar (0) and Du Plessis.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (15 runs) got a good start along with Rachin Ravindra (37 runs in 15 balls) but could not play big innings, but Rachin Ravindra performed well in his IPL debut.

Glenn Maxwell was then sent to the pavilion by Deepak Chahar, who was unable to even access his account. Afterwards, Mustafizur made matters worse for RCB by walking Cameron Green (18) and Virat Kohli (21).

Anuj Rawat and Dinesh Karthik then combined to add 95 runs, taking RCB to 173/6 runs. Anuj Rawat led the RCB in scoring with 48 runs (25 balls, 3 sixes, and 4 fours), while Dinesh Karthik finished undefeated with 38 runs (26 balls, 3 fours, and 2 sixes). For CSK, Mustafizur Rahman achieved four victories.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Full Team Squads, Players List, Format and Schedule

Scorecard of RCB Innings (173/6)

Player Run Bowler Wicket Fall
Faf du Plessis35Mustafizur Rahman1-41
Rajat Patidar0Mustafizur Rahman2-41
Glen Maxwell0Deepak Chahar3-42
Virat Kohli21Mustafizur Rahman4-77
Cameron Green18Mustafizur Rahman5-78
Anuj Rawat48Run Out6-173

Mustafizur Rahman, Rachin Ravindra, Mathisha Pathirana, and Daryl Mitchell were the four foreign players in CSK’s starting eleven. This match marked the IPL debut of Sameer Rizvi in addition to Rachin Ravindra. RCB’s playing-11, however, featured foreign players Faf du Plessis, Cameron Green, Alzarri Joseph, and Glenn Maxwell.

RCB Captain Furious After Crushing Defeat

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Faf du Plessis said after the end of the match, ‘You have to score runs fast in the first six overs. CSK creates pressure with its spinners. We lost a lot of wickets in the first six overs. We fell 15-20 runs short on a pitch which was not as bad as the one we played on.

Ravindra Jadeja Finished the Over within Minutes

Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is famous in the cricket world for finishing the overs quickly. Jadeja bowls very few no and wide balls. He adopted the same style in front of Chennai when Virat Kohli and Cameron Green were present at the crease. Jadeja was seen throwing one ball after another to Cameron Green within a few seconds.

After which Virat Kohli, who was on non-strike, classed him in a funny manner. Kohli said to Jadeja, ‘Hey, let him breathe’, after which Jadeja was seen laughing. Virat Kohli’s voice was recorded in the stump mic. This video of Kohli is becoming increasingly viral on social media.

CSK’s Dominance in Chepauk

The team from Chennai, which has won five IPL titles in a row, is aiming for a record-tying sixth one IPL title. Conversely, RCB will do everything in its power to win the IPL championship for the first time.

In the IPL thus far, CSK and RCB have squared off 32 times against one another. Bengaluru won ten games while Chennai won twenty-one during this time. There was still one unresolved match. Chennai has not lost to RCB on this pitch since 2008.