IPL Purple Cap 2024, Previous Purple Cap Holders and Records

By Suman Rani

Published on:

Follow Us
IPL Purple Cap

IPL Purple Cap: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most celebrated and eagerly anticipated T20 cricket extravaganza. As the 2024 edition of the IPL unfolds, cricket fans worldwide are eagerly tracking the performances of the star bowlers vying for the coveted Purple Cap.

IPL Purple Cap
IPL Purple Cap

This prestigious award is bestowed upon the bowler who emerges as the leading wicket-taker of the season, showcasing their ability to bamboozle the best batters in the game.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

What is IPL Purple Cap?

The IPL Purple Cap is a symbol of excellence for bowlers in the tournament. The player who snares the most wickets throughout the season is crowned with the Purple Cap, a recognition that celebrates their relentless pursuit of wickets and their unwavering commitment to their craft.

Rules for Winning the IPL Purple Cap

To claim the Purple Cap, bowlers must adhere to the following rules:

  1. Wickets Tally: The bowler who takes the highest number of wickets in the IPL season is awarded the Purple Cap.
  2. Super Over Exclusion: Wickets taken in Super Overs are not counted towards the Purple Cap tally.
  3. On-field Recognition: The holder of the Purple Cap is required to wear the distinctive cap during matches, symbolizing their status as the leading wicket-taker.
  4. Economy Rate Tiebreaker: In the event of a tie between bowlers with an equal number of wickets, the bowler with the superior economy rate is awarded the Purple Cap.
  5. Dynamic Award: The Purple Cap changes hands throughout the tournament, ensuring that the leading wicket-taker at any given point is duly recognized.

The 2024 Purple Cap Contenders

As the 2024 IPL season reaches its crescendo, several bowlers have already staked their claim for the Purple Cap. As of now, the top five bowlers in the race for the Purple Cap in IPL 2024 are:

  1. Yuzvendra Chahal (RR): 8 wickets in 4 matches with an average of 11.12
  2. Mohit Sharma (GT): 7 wickets in 4 matches with an average of 18.71
  3. Mustafizur Rahman (CSK): 7 wickets in 3 matches with an average of 15.14
  4. Mayank Yadav (LSG): 6 wickets in 2 matches with an average of 6.83
  5. Khaleel Ahmed (DC): 6 wickets in 4 matches with an average of 21.83

As of now, Rajasthan Royals’ Yuzvendra Chahal has surged to the top of the Purple Cap standings with an impressive tally of 8 wickets in 4 matches.

However, the race for the Purple Cap is far from over, and unexpected heroes often emerge in the high-octane atmosphere of the IPL. As the tournament progresses, bowlers will be pushed to their limits, and their ability to maintain consistency and adapt to changing conditions will ultimately determine who walks away with the coveted Purple Cap.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

Since the inception of the IPL in 2008, several legendary bowlers have etched their names in history by claiming the Purple Cap. Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir was the first recipient, snaring 22 wickets for the Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural edition. Bhuvneshwar Kumar stands out as the only bowler to have won the Purple Cap in consecutive seasons (2016 and 2017).

The record for the most wickets in a single IPL season is jointly held by Dwayne Bravo and Harshal Patel, who both claimed an astonishing 32 wickets in their respective campaigns. Other notable Purple Cap winners include Lasith Malinga, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, and the ever-consistent Yuzvendra Chahal.

2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals22
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers23
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers21
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils25
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings26
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad23
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab24
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings26
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore32
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals27
2023Mohammed ShamiGujarat Titans28

The IPL Purple Cap is more than just a symbolic award; it represents the epitome of bowling excellence in the shortest format of the game. Winning the Purple Cap is a testament to a bowler’s skill, determination, and unwavering spirit. It is a recognition that transcends individual performances and serves as an inspiration for aspiring cricketers worldwide.

As the 2024 IPL season unfolds, fans eagerly anticipate the emergence of a new Purple Cap holder, ready to etch their name in the annals of IPL history. The race for the top wicket-taker award promises to be an enthralling spectacle, one that will captivate audiences and test the mettle of the finest bowlers in the world.

Suman Rani

Suman Rani loves to write about anything that emerges from the world of entertainment, education, sports, technology, and automotive. She has been working in this field since 2022 and has both SEO and content writing expertise. With in-depth knowledge in the field, she takes on the responsibility of providing accurate information to the youth through this platform. Reach out to Suman Rani via email: sumanraniops@gmail.com.