RCB Won the Toss in the Opening Match, Chennai Team will Bowl First

In the opening game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) square off. Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium will host this game between the two clubs. Faf du Plessis chose to bat first in this particular encounter after winning the toss. In this match, CSK is bowling, according to that.

Prior to the IPL 2024 inaugural match, there will be an opening ceremony. There will be a distinct Bollywood flavour to this opening ceremony. The first performance is that of Tiger Shroff and Akshay Kumar. Hit films like Desi Boyz and Bhoolbhulaiyaa had songs by Akshay Kumar. Then Mohit Chauhan, AR Rahman and veteran Bollywood singer Sonu Nigam have also won the hearts of fans with their songs.

RCB Won the Toss in the Opening Match, Chennai Team will Bowl First
RCB Won the Toss in the Opening Match, Chennai Team will Bowl First

Chennai, the defending champion and five-time winner, is aiming for a record-tying sixth championship. RCB, on the other hand, will make every effort to win the IPL championship for the first time. In the IPL thus far, the teams of CSK and RCB have faced off 31 times. Bengaluru won 10 games during this time, while Chennai won 20. One match was still up for debate.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Through this match, Rachin Ravindra of New Zealand might make his IPL debut. Ravindra will be carrying a heavy load without Conway. Daryl Mitchell, a fellow countryman of Rachin, will be in the middle order. It would be up to skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad and veteran Ajinkya Rahane to score runs in the middle order.

Chennai’s all-arounders and spinners, who can wreak havoc on the Chidambaram Stadium surface, are its greatest asset. Here, the bowling of Mahish Tikshina, Moeen Ali, Mitchell Santner, and Ravindra Jadeja will prove to be highly effective. Fast bowlers Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur are also members of CSK.

Also Read: CSK vs RCB Dream11 IPL 2024 Prediction and Fantasy Tips

Waiting for First Win in Chepauk After 2008

RCB has not defeated Chennai on this ground since 2008. The responsibility of scoring runs will be on Virat Kohli and captain Faf du Plessis, who are returning to the field after a break of two months. Cameron Green and Glenn Maxwell are also in the team.

Among fast bowlers, they have Mohammad Siraj, Lockie Ferguson, Alzarri Joseph, Akash Deep and Reece TopleyWanindu Hasaranga will be missed in spin bowling, but Maxwell has experience. Karn Sharma, Himanshu Sharma and Mayank Dagar could not get match practice.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Full Team Squads, Players List, Format and Schedule

Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dubey, Rajvardhan Hangarkar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Chaudhary, Ajinkya Rahane, Sheikh Rashid, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Mahish Tikshina, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avnish Rao Aravali.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Faf du Plessis (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyyash Prabhudesai, Will Jacques, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Manoj Bhandge, Mayank Dagar, Vijaykumar Vaishak, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Cameron Green, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Lockie Ferguson, Swapnil Singh, Sourav Chauhan.